A Day to Love

So, Valentine’s Day is coming up. I hope that I won’t be sad like last year. 2014 was probably the first year that I was in a bad mood on February 14th. I think it’s because it was the first time that I wasn’t preoccupied with something big, like school and/or work. And so my mind decided to focus on the fact that I was single on that specific day.

Which is funny, because on the other days that you are single, it’s not such a big deal. Yes, there are decorations and couples going out on dates and romantic movies playing all day – but really, it’s not so bad when you really think about it. There are decorations and sales for potential gifts at other times of the year. There are couples going out on dates all the time. And romantic movies can be watched or broadcast any time of the year. It’s the fact that we’ve made February the 14th a day to specifically celebrate romantic love that can make us feel overwhelmed or sad.

I’m feeling really optimistic, though, since I had a really good day. My new job is going well and I feel like I’m in the right place in my life. So it’s hard to put myself into that more negative mindset, especially about a holiday that I think is so good for the world. Love is what makes life worthwhile. It’s what can start and end wars. It’s what makes a house a home and a group of people a family. It’s – in my opinion – the strongest thing in the world.

Which is why I’ve intended to stay positive and be loving for this year’s Valentine’s Day, even if I will spend it without a significant other. And it’s okay to be single. If you’re reading this now, I want you to know that you can make any day of the year a day for love. You can spread warmth and gratitude wherever you go, whenever you choose. You have the power to love, and you have the choice to share that love everyday.

What do you think?

