Storytelling Live: PeriSkype

You know my old post called Storytelling Live? In it, I talked about how much I had wanted to be able to stand in front of a group of strangers and tell my story. I had thought about sharing how stories have shaped me and how escaping into fiction kept me from writing and living my own story.

Well, a few days ago, my life/career coach, Anita Wing Lee, approached me with this amazing idea to have a video chat through Skype and to broadcast it on Periscope – a PeriSkype, actually. Periscope is kind of like having a livestream: it’s you in a video talking to an audience who can interact with you through comments. But it’s an app that is specific to this kind of video/content-sharing.

I had never thought that I would be invited to something like this, let alone agree to do something like this. When I was younger, I’ve been labelled as and felt shy, and speaking in front of others was incredibly scary because it seemed – and still is! – a really vulnerable experience.

But it’s this vulnerability that I am trying to bring with me to everything that I do. I have found that it’s the best way to genuinely connect with others and be myself. And so, tomorrow, Monday, July 13th, Anita and I are going to be talking about her coaching program and how it’s helped me grow more into myself.

Just download the app, follow @anitawinglee, and tune in at 7:30pm Eastern Time. If you’re curious about what I look and sound like (haha) and what my journey for the past several months has been like, feel free to join us!

Thanks for reading and being part of the community!

What do you think?

