The Reader Problems Tag

I saw Phoenix Grey‘s post called The Reader Problems Tag, and thought I’d join in on the fun.

1. You have 20,000 books on your TBR. How in the world do you decide what to read next?

I have no idea what a TBR is, and after approximately 5 minutes of research, I couldn’t find the answer.

Anyway. I usually go with my gut when it comes to choosing what to read next, but that leads to me reading a few pages of one book and then leaving the rest for another time. So, I guess it’s a matter of seeing what sticks, and I would have to read a bit of the book before realizing that this is what I’m supposed to be reading. What I mean by that is I treat this process as a intuitive practice: I believe that I’m supposed to be reading a specific book, but it may take a few misses before I get that hit (or hint) and find that one book.

2. You’re halfway through a book and you’re just not loving it. Do you quit or commit?

I have quit reading Shibumi more than halfway through. I just couldn’t take the pages and pages about cave exploration – which sounds interesting, but the protagonist struck me as pretentious and sexist so that got frustrating after a while. I’ve also stopped reading Think and Grow Rich because the language got annoying after a while.

That being said, though, if I didn’t have such strong negative feelings towards a book, I would still find a way to finish it. I may end up not being able to, and I’m okay with that.

3. The end of the year is coming and you’re so close yet so far away on your GoodReads challenge. Do you quit or commit?

Ha, I don’t do the GoodReads challenge. I don’t like setting a goal of how many books I should read per year. Like I said, I’m more of the type to read a book when I think I need it at that specific moment in my life. Last year I read several novels for the first time. This year, I’m reading less fiction but still reading new books. It all depends on what I think I need and going with it.

4. The covers of a series you love DO. NOT. MATCH. How do you cope?

Easy. Here’s an example: My Harry Potter series has an American copy of the Order of the Phoenix while everything else is the UK edition. I haven’t brought myself to get a matching Book Five since the copy I have was a gift from my great aunt and it looks so broken in and a part of the family that I can’t part with it. If I’ve had those specific books for a long time and have read them more than once, then I have a special relationship with those books because of our history.

5. Everyone and their mother loves a book you really don’t like. Who do you bond with over shared feelings?

Well, I have a lot of friends who recognize how problematic the Twilight and Fifty Shades series are, so it’s not a hassle for me to find people who share these feelings.

6. You’re reading a book and you’re about to start crying in public. How do you deal?

I would try to hold it in – it’s simply what I’m used to doing – but then realize that I should just let it out and not be ashamed of my feelings. I’ve cried in public before at least twice, and both times I was on transit and it was so late at night that nobody noticed. (Or at least pretended not to.)

7. A sequel of a book you loved just came out, but you’ve forgotten a lot from the prior novel. Will you re-read the book? Skip the sequel? Try to find a summary on GoodReads? Cry in frustration?

I would re-read the book for sure! I love to re-live stories, especially when the next part is released.

8. You don’t want ANYONE borrowing your books. How do you politely tell people “nope” when they ask?

Hardly anybody ever asks me to borrow books, haha. Only family members and one or two best friends have borrowed my books – and they keep them in good condition.

One time, though, I had lent my copy of Life of Pi to a classmate in high school, and a few days later he shows me a few rips in the cover and the pages. As soon as I saw that, I said, “Give that back.” The poor guy felt bad (and probably scared because I was so serious and focused in high school) and actually offered to buy me a new copy, but I refused. Since then, I’ve been selective of who borrows my books.

If somebody were to ask me, though, I might actually lend them a book. Of course, it depends on the person and the book.

9. You’ve picked up and put down five different books in the past month. How do you get over the reading slump?

I would wait until the itch to read comes back. That’s what I’ve been doing for most of this year. I have two books that I’ve started to read, but can’t seem to make the time to actually read more than 10 pages in one sitting. Whenever this kind of thing happens, I feel like it’s because of a lifestyle change. Right now, though, it doesn’t feel like a bad lifestyle change – but I’ll see what happens in the next few weeks and months.

10. There are so many new books coming out that you are dying to read! How many do you actually buy?

I would actually do a bit of research into the books and figure out which ones I feel a strong connection to based on the synopsis, the author, the genre, the plot/idea, and yes, the hype. I would only pick one book, though, since I know that I wouldn’t have time to actually read all of those books in a year.

11. After you’ve bought a new book you want to get to, how long do they sit on your shelf until you actually read them?

Ha. It depends. Right now, the pattern seems like either a week or several months and counting.

 

Well, this kind of made me question my lifestyle right now. Yes, I love reading and books and libraries and all of that fund stuff – but I’m kind of focusing on writing my own story right now. Hopefully I’ll return to books soon!

What do you think?

