No Time for this Shit

I’m realizing that I am having less and less patience and tolerance for things that I simply do not want to deal with. I think it’s a mark of becoming (more of) an adult, and hopefully not a sign that I’m becoming a more negative person.

Relationship and friendship drama, rude behaviour, jobs that I don’t want, being in situations where I can’t be myself… I don’t want anything to do with them. I don’t have time for that shit.

Ignorance, apathy, people who don’t bother to learn about important things or to care about important things… I don’t have time for that shit.

People forcing their way into circles, people who aren’t considerate of others, people I know I won’t get along with, people who don’t share my soul… I don’t have time for that shit.

And the weird and wonderful thing is that I feel better when I turn away from those things and those people. I feel happier and liberated, like I have so much time and energy to devote to the things and people I do love. And isn’t that what truly matters?

I mean, yes, I still take into account what others think and feel, and how I can help other people become better while improving myself – but when it comes down to it, I want to drop situations and people who don’t allow me to fully be myself and who prevent me from reaching ultimate happiness. There’s something to be said about the many times that we all have felt walked over, ignored, or not given the opportunity to do what makes us come alive. We have probably brought that upon ourselves, but I think we can bring about profound and lasting change that allows us to cut that shit out of our lives and move along our path to fulfillment.

So we shouldn’t feel guilty about not having time for shit like that. We should feel like we’ve just dropped a load and intend to leave it behind where it belongs. (And yes, you can construe that into bathroom humour. I won’t mind.)

What do you think?

